Mayor & Town Council

Council Group Photograph




The Town Council is composed of the Mayor and five Council Members elected at-large by the Citizens of Argyle.   Council places are numbered 1 through 5 and are filled by general election. Odd-numbered places (Places 1, 3 and 5) are filled in even-numbered years.  The Office of Mayor and even-numbered places (Places 2 and 4) are filled in odd-numbered years. Terms of office are for two years. To be elected to one of the offices of the municipality, a person must receive more votes than any other person running for the office (Plurality Vote Required). The Town of Argyle form of government is a General Law Type A Municipality.  

The Town of Argyle Town Council holds regular meeting on the first and third Mondays each month.  When a holiday is observed on Monday, then the regular meeting will be held the following Tuesday. Meetings typically begin at 6 pm and are held at Argyle Town Hall, 308 Denton St., E., Argyle, TX 76226.  Special meetings are called as needed.  See the Town Council 2022 Meeting Calendar

The Mayor serves as the presiding officer at all meetings of the governing body and may vote only if there is a tie.  In the Mayor's absence, the Mayor Pro Tem shall perform the Mayor's duties.  A quorum of the Town Council is three members and does not include the Mayor.

The Town Council appoints the other officers of the municipality by ordinance including the Town Administrator, Town Secretary, Town Treasurer, Town Attorney, Municipal Court Judge, and any other officers or agents authorized by the governing body.  The Town Council also appoints members to Argyle's advisory Boards and Commissions in accordance with the Board and Commission Appointing Policy and Procedure.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Year in Review